Chinese Domain Name Deception - Business Owners Beware

Posted by Darren E
Darren E
Darren Eiswirth is the Marketing Director of Woodlands Ad Agency. A business marketing idealist and a major ad...
User is currently offline
on Monday, June 20 2011 in Advertising

This message is for any business owner who is new to the game of Domain Names. You may someday get an e-mail in your mailbox that a competitor is trying to buy your domain names in China and a "concerned" (notice the word concerned) registry company is giving you a chance to keep that from happening.

The Chinese Deception Letter

Copied and pasted below is the actual e-mail I received in my mailbox about 3 to 4 times. As you can see, it appears quite compelling. I'm sure yours will too.


(It's very urgent, Please transfer this email to your CEO or appropriate person, Thanks)

Dear CEO/Principal,

This is Harry Zhang---Senior Consultant of domain name registration and solution center in china. have something to confirm with you. We formally received an application on June 20 , 2011, one company which self-styled "Desgn Company" were applying to register "woodlandsadagency" as Network Brand and following domain names:

  • woodlandsadagency.asia
  • woodlandsadagency.cn
  • woodlandsadagency.com.cn
  • woodlandsadagency.com.hk
  • woodlandsadagency.com.tw
  • woodlandsadagency.hk
  • woodlandsadagency.net.cn
  • woodlandsadagency.org.cn
  • woodlandsadagency.tw

After our initial checking, we found that the brand name applied for registration are as same as your company’s name and brand, so we need to check with you whether your company has authorized that company to register these names. If you authorized this, we will finish the registration at once. If your company has no relationships with that company nor do not authorized, please reply to us within 7 workdays, if we can't get any information from yours over 7 workdays, we will unconditionally approve the application submitted by "Desgn Company".

Thanks for your cooperation.
Best Regards,
Harry Zhang


What Can You Can Do To Stop This?

The answer is simple, put this guy in your SPAM folder, contact your service provider and ask him to block the IP address of the email. This kind of e-mail unfortunately works to people who don't know any better.

If you conduct a lot of business in China, then maybe you should worry about it but that's a huge MAYBE. What this registry company is trying to do is get your money. Plain and simple.

Darren Eiswirth is the Marketing Director of Woodlands Ad Agency. A business marketing idealist and a major advocate to Search Engine Optimization - he excels in on-page SEO when it comes to managing business websites. His years of experience in niche marketing and advertising has helped many businesses both large and small increase revenue.
Trackback URL for this blog entry
  • http://interiordesigncoursesonline.net

    Posted by http://interiordesigncoursesonline.net on Monday, January 18 2038
    Chinese Domain Name Deception - Business Owners Beware - Advertising | Marketing | Web Design ...
  • Bridesmaid Dresses

    Posted by Bridesmaid Dresses on Monday, January 18 2038
    Chinese Domain Name Deception - Business Owners Beware - Advertising | Marketing | Web Design ...

Comments

No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest
Guest Thursday, May 17 2012

Latest Posts

Copyright ©2010-2012 Woodlands Ad Agency LLC | Privacy | Houston Advertising Agency | Sitemap | Website Design